Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Flipped

Publication date: May 13, 2003

Publisher: Knopf

Pages: 212

Targeted Audience: Young adult/middle grade

Genre: Fiction/Rom-com

Blurb: Flipped is a romance told in two voices. The first time Juli Baker saw Bryce Loski, she flipped. The first time Bryce saw Juli, he ran. That’s pretty much the pattern for these two neighbors until the eighth grade, when, just as Juli is realizing Bryce isn’t as wonderful as she thought, Bryce is starting to see that Juli is pretty amazing. How these two teens manage to see beyond the surface of things and come together makes for a comic and poignant romance.

“The first time I saw him, I flipped.”

This book is told in two POV’s, Juli and Bryce. Juli has been head over heels in love with Bryce ever since she saw his striking blue eyes and Bryce has constantly distanced himself from Juli. However, things start to change when they both hit eighth grade. Juli starts to wonder if she loved Bryce just for his blue eyes and Bryce slowly starts to realize the beauty in Juli’s eccentric nature.

I went into this book not expecting much. Beez had suggested it to me and I had just finished reading a fantasy book which had drained me of my ability to read so I thought, why not? It was a small book and maybe it would get me out of a reading slump which had rooted itself so early in the new year. And oh how well that worked.

A thing I really liked about the writing is how when the POV’s switch you get a slightly different view of how events took place. I love that, because human memory alters events to our liking. We don’t trust eyewitnesses most of the time because of this very reason and I thought that the author was really smart to address that point in this book.

Also, this book is absolutely adorable. 10/10 for the cuteness. It makes you giggle and it also makes you feel angry. Two extreme emotions that just adds to the amazing-ness of this book.

Juli: She is a girl with a titanium backbone. I believe that anyone who is starting out with contemporary YA should really give this book a try because this girl is a role model. She may be head over heels in love but she knows when to make a stand. She knows the difference between right and wrong and her peculiar behavior is what we all need in life. 

Bryce: In the beginning of this book I hated his character. His mindset was so narrow and he seemed to get annoyed even at the simplest of things. His character didn’t care about other people and that frustrated me to no end. However, his character development is also what makes me love him.

Keeping aside the sweet characters and the cuteness of the book, the main reason why I loved this book was the story. Every event that takes place gives us a deeper insight into the personality of almost every character. Usually the families in teen novels have such insipid personalities but this book gives us beautifully fleshed out characters.

Juli’s family is a family that I would love to have. The values that the parents teach is admirable but you also see Bryce’s family and suddenly each protagonists behaviour starts to make sense.

I also found out recently that this book has been made into a movie, so excuse me while I go and watch what is definitely going to be the sweetest love story in history.

Recommendation: I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a light and sweet read or if you love knowing about an eccentric girl and a boy who learns the value of having a backbone.

Ratings: 5/5 absolutely adored it.

5 cupcakes

5 cute cupcakes for a cute book

Lots of love and pasta~

Raven

One thought on “Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: If our future kids don’t read these books we’ll disown them! | Raven & Beez

Leave a Reply

