Top 5 Wednesday: Books we DNF

Books are really good until they’re not.

After all we are human and we have likes and dislikes and sometimes we don’t like some books because they are too bad and that’s okay even though we sometimes go through an eternal debate about whether we should abandon the book or not…

So here is a list of 5 books that we Did Not Finish (DNF):

BeFunky Collage.jpg

#1 More than this by Patrick Ness

Raven: This book had a very interesting plot but I couldn’t make myself go through his writing. It wasn’t bad writing, it was just bland writing (at least according to me… *whispers* don’t hate on me)

Beez: I got through this book but I didn’t fancy the writing as well. The story too fell short of my interest. The possibility of what would happen kept me going. And I found it disappointing so I told Raven to not bother with it (I rule).

#2 We all looked up by Tommy Wallach

Raven: No.

Beez: This book was so bad. Bad bad bad. The characters sucked, the writing was meh, the story was bleh. I’m not even a little sad I didn’t complete this book. #noregrets #thuglife

#3 Horns by Joe Hill

Raven: This book had one of the most interesting plots I had read in a long while BUT I hated the writing!! I loved Iggy and all the characters but his writing seemed to drag everything and I didn’t have the patience to stick around till the end. This is literally the ONLY book that I went on Wiki to read about the rest of the plot.

#4 A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Beez: I didn’t not like this book but I was too lazy and I just didn’t put in the effort to finish this book so… (I know Raven is going to yell at me for this.)

Raven: I CAN’T BELIEVE I AGREED TO LET THIS BOOK BE ON THIS LIST!

#5 Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Raven: This book was just plain boring. The idea of having a story within a story was so unique, it was the reason I picked up the book but the main story as well as the story within just did not grab my interest and I did not give two shits for the characters. 

We would also like to mention some of the other books that we DNF’ed:

1. Matched by Ally Condie

2. White Teeth by Zadie Smith

3. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

4. The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

5. The beginning of everything by Rob Schnider

6. The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

That’s our top 5 (and a complementary 6) books that we DNF’ed. Tell us yours in the comments below!

This is Raven and Beez,

Signing out~

[Top 5 Wednesday was created by Booktuber named Lainey at Gingerreadslainey and you can find other T5W-ers, the topics and guidelines on the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group.]

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books we DNF

  1. I’m curious about why you didn’t finish The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I am debating starting this book but I have already read the spin off series- Bloodlines- and feel like I already know the outcome of the books without needing to read them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well to be honest, I read the third book first (I know! Huge sin) when I was 15 years old and even then I couldn’t tolerate the attitude of the main character. I mean, it was supposed to be about vampires!

      When I started reading it, she mentioned some guy in every bloody paragraph and it pissed me off so much because I came for some serious vampires and all I was getting was diva attitudes and boy pining. I remember that I did not even finish the first chapter.

      Now I’m not gonna say that nobody should read it because everyone has different tastes, but that book was just not for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

