Lumberjanes #1 by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis

22272291.jpgIllustrator: Brooke A. Allen

Publication Date: April 19, 2014

Publisher: Boom! Studios

Pages: 26

Targeted Audience: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy/Adventure/Graphic novels

Blurb: Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together…and theyโ€™re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! Not only is it the second title launching in our new BOOM! Box imprint but LUMBERJANES is one of those punk rock, love-everything-about-it stories that appeals to fans of basically all excellent things.

I decided to read this book because I felt that I was slipping into one of my almost unbreakable book slump curses.ย And also because I absolutely loved Nimona by Noelle Stevenson.

Unfortunately it didn’t work out because this graphic novel was so bad. I don’t usually hate graphic novels (well, I haven’t read many) but this one got on my nerves since the beginning.

The first issue was just an introduction to the lumberjane camp. It’s got a cool name since it’s a camp for girls hence lumberJANE instead of lumberJACK but besides that it felt waaaay too kiddish. It was like those new silly Disney shows that try to be kid-friendly (I can’t read “what the junk?” again and again!) AND “hipster cool”.

There are sooooo many characters and I couldn’t remember even one of their names! Many people have told me that it gets better in the succeeding issues but I honestly do not feel like I would ever pick it up again.

I don’t have anything more to say about it and it gets one feather for fabulous illustrations but do tell me what you guys thought about this graphic novel in the comments below!

Feather 1

1 Raven feather is all it gets…

Lots of love,

Raven

2 thoughts on “Lumberjanes #1 by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis

Leave a Reply

