Top 5 Wednesday: People like us

“I see you.
Because in you, I see me.”
~Lisa Schroeder, The day before.

It’s not always that we are fortunate enough to read books that have characters that are relatable in their personality. But when we do find them, we cherish them the most.

A lot of time I feel that writers write characters in a way that we make space for our own voices so we feel like them, but then there are the characters we see our traits in and we recognize ourselves in.

On today’s T5W we talk about 5 characters that have a bit (or maybe more) of our personality.

t5w

Raven’s top 5:

#1 Hermione from Harry Potter

I want to say that I am smart like her but really I am just super into reading and researching like her. When I was a kid, I would beg my parents to buy children encyclopedias and then I would read every word in it. I still have them back in India.

#2 Arya Stark from Game of Thrones

I have definitely not struggled like her but she is like me in many aspects. As a girl I was always expected to dress up in skirts and frocks a.k.a frilly dresses and I would throw tantrums because I “wanted to dress like papa”. Yeah… I still wear my dad’s shorts.

#3 Ronan from The Raven Boys

I am a feather-mama to 4 adorable budgies. And Ronan is a feather-daddy to Chainsaw. We are a perfect match!

#4 Cath from Fangirl

We can all relate to Cath because she is so awkward and nerdy and introverted and unsure of herself. When I was reading Fangirl I became so protective of her and mostly cried when I finished the book cause I didn’t want to let her go.

#5 Craig Gilner from It’s kind of a funny story

I read this book around the time I was slowly slipping into depression. My situation was not as bad as Craig but he definitely helped me a lot. He helped me take control of my life and get back on my feet. To not feel sorry for myself. Sure I didn’t love the book a lot but this character resonated with me in loads of ways.

Beez’s top 5:

BeFunky Collage.jpg

#1 Eileen from Eileen

I’ve written a review on this book but I cannot put it up because it is gone for grading. But throughout the book, I felt so much of Eileen in me. I felt like her head full of morbid thoughts, face behind a mask and a veil of ordinariness. I got Eileen. She embodied so many of my insecurities and vulnerabilities. Eileen is a part of me.

#2 Cath from Fangirl

Cath is a marvelous creature, innit? I’ve always been Cath, and when I read Fangirl, I could only marvel about how much I was her. In so many freaking ways. Case in point, when Cath was terrified of going to the lunch room because she didn’t go the first day and after then she thought it’d be weird because she’d be so confused and strange feeling- I’ve felt like that! Now that I have my copy of Fangirl back, I can always revisit it, because it really is like home.

#3 Grace from One

Grace is the quiet (conjoined) twin. She’s the one who observes, notices and sports while being an incredibly thoughtful human bean. I did the do all the along with Grace (related to her). From all the moments, this one stands out the most:

#4 Laurel from Love letters to the dead

Laurel is a lot more depressing than I am, but I remember feeling quite like her especially when she mentioned the moments outside her head, like when her friends mention how quiet she is, while her head is all abuzz with thoughts and that’s the Laurel we know. I feel that that is me a lot of the time, I come across as quiet and shy and reserved so much of the time, when inside I’m bursting with so much.

#5 Sutter from The spectacular now

I’m just going to throw this out there and say it: I’m a chill person. I don’t get freaked out. Well, I do. But mostly, I could be a mess and have all my assignments undone 5 hours before submission time and I’ll yell in texts but I’ll still do shit stuff on my phone and waste my time. Also, I’m super chill.
Tbh, I don’t know if I’m chill like Sutter. But I am very unconnected from reality like Sutter, so.

Hard-hitters: My sister Jodie (both the sisters), Lola from Lola and the boy next door, Charlie from The perks of being a wallflower, Anya from Anya’s ghost, Morris from The moon and more.

It’s amazing how our choices say so much about us, isn’t it? 
Tell us yours in the comments below or attach a link for us to check it out!

This is Raven and Beez,

Signing out~

[Top 5 Wednesday was created by Booktuber named Lainey at Gingerreadslainey and you can find other T5W-ers, the topics and guidelines on the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group.]

Credit for the fanarts: Cath’s fanart, Ronan’s fanart, Laurel’s fanart, Cath’s fanart.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: People like us

Leave a Reply

