Book Fangirling Award

We were nominated by three fabulous book bloggers- Acciopadfoot, Journeyofangie and Lunireads for this award so THANK YOU SO MUCH YOU GUYS! But that also means that this is going to be a loooong post but we will try our best to keep it interesting.

blogawardbutton

The rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Answer the 5 questions they set for you.
  • Set 5 new questions and nominate 5 more bloggers.

~Acciopadfoot’s Questions~

1. Have you ever done anything embarrassing while you’ve been fangirling?

Raven: Of course! But I never felt guilty about it. I remember the time Beez and I started doing a little jiggle when we found the Agents of Shield funko pops at our book store or the time we started gushing about the amazingness of The Raven Cycle in the middle of a book aisle and also that other time where we were so immersed in talking about escaping zombies that we missed our metro stop.

Beez: He he! I’ve been with Raven in a lot of fangirl-y moments. I remember this once we were in Kinokunia (book store) and we were intently and loudly discussing Japanese from our limited anime knowledge, and then later we came to realize there was an actual japanese person next to us and she could hear us.

I also once sent a text message to this guy because his display was of him in a bowtie and suspenders and obviously that means he’s a Doctor Who fan (it ended terribly). 

2. Biggest book hangover?

Raven: Without a doubt the biggest hangovers I’ve had were after I read the Harry Potter series, The book thief, Fangirl and Stay where you are and then leave.

Beez: I don’t remember exactly what my biggest book hangover was but I do remember when I finished Split second in the middle of the night, I was a sobbing mess. I was crying endless tears, chatting with Raven, lying with my towel on my head and experiencing an existential crisis till I fell asleep. When I woke up later that night, my face was caked with leftover tears and I was sleepy and my hair was still wet. I have no idea why that was my reaction to the book because

i) I kinda dazed through the book so I had no idea what happened,

ii) It wasn’t even a bit sad, at all. I reckon it was a mixture of exam stress, nostalgia and late night.

3. When was the last time you fangirled and why?

Raven: The last time I fangirled was 2 days ago when I just finished watching the Season 3 finale of Merlin. It was midnight and my entire family was asleep, but there I was crying and silently screaming.

Beez: Oh man! I’ve made my sister start watching Agents of Shield and I keep fangirling in front of her when she’s watching and also when I’m talking to her.

4. Do you read or write fanfiction?

Raven: I don’t like reading fanfiction because it distorts my actual idea of the story and also because I prefer everything that is canon with occasional exceptions. When it comes to writing fanfiction I have only ever written one for Nightvale and it was actually just my idea for a podcast episode.

Beez: Naw, fanfiction is not for me either. I like specifically only 3 and only because of the writing and sentiment. In my head, canon is the only right and anything that’s even a little bit twisty makes my brain blare NO. I don’t write fics either but like Raven, I’ve had episode ideas, notably 3 for Supernatural, all of which involve me dying. Yay!

5. Who are you fangirling most over at the moment?

Raven: Merlin!!

Beez: Civil war! Shield! Stuff! Gordon Ramsay! Leena Norms! Peaceful cuisine’s no music videos!

~Journeyofangie’s Questions~

1. What genre of books do you usually read? Why?

Raven: I almost always read fantasy and science-fiction. The idea of a different world, with different rules and beliefs and possibilities just blows my mind away every single time.

Beez: I don’t really know! I suppose I read contemporary the most but I’m not sure. I like books with beautiful prose. I like science fiction and fantasy. I like complex human emotion. Yes, I like books with emotion. That’s my favorite genre.

2. What is the first ever book you’ve read?

Raven: Damn! This is a tough one. I don’t really remember what my first book was. I’m pretty sure it was this collection of short stories which had talking animals in it and they were stories with morals but they didn’t like write some shit like “So the moral of the story is” and all that crap. It is still one of my favourite books but I can’t remember it’s name! And I can’t check it cause it’s back in India.

Beez: First book I ever read?! Man, I’ve been reading since I was in my diapers, I probably even read books when I couldn’t understand them! Those days man. Asides that, I used to have this incredible set of books with pictures and amazing stories, including a cooking book, which I think I read a million times. Also, The tiger who came to tea.

3. What fandom are you currently into? Explain.lol.

Raven: I’m in the following fandoms: Doctor Who, Sherlock, Merlin, Agents of Shield, Orphan Black and The Walking Dead.

Beez: Me and Raven are the same person.

4. Who’s your favorite author?  What are his/her works that you’ve read?

Raven: I can’t choose a single one! I don’t have loads of favourites but I do have a few. I’ve got JKR (Harry Potter), Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson), Maggie Stiefvater (The raven cycle) and Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn).

Beez: I have more than one, but I will choose Maggie for this. I adore her so much, more than my words can possibly hold. I have only read the first three books of The raven cycle series and half of Lament, which I didn’t quite fancy.

5. Fiction or Nonfiction? Why?

Raven: ALWAYS FICTION! This world is too boring for me. I need different worlds and different thoughts and point of views.

Beez: Fiction all the way. I do like non-fiction too but I’d choose fiction any day. It’s an escape, as well as a reflection.

~Lunireads’ Questions~

1. What new release are you most exited to read in May?

Raven: THE RAVEN KING! Which released in April but I still haven’t read it.

Beez: Copy Raven.

2. Do you prefer hardbacks, paperbacks or eBooks?

Raven: I love looking at hardbacks, I love owning paperbacks but most of the time I read an eBook because it’s so convenient to carry around.

Beez: For reading, I think I prefer ebooks. I think it’s because I’ve been reading ebooks on my phone for so long, it’s become personal. So when I’m reading on my phone it feels to me like my own little piece of the book? And I can also highlight excessively. I like solid books for keeping and stroking and admiring and shelving. I also don’t trust myself and I like my books to be new looking, all the time.

3. Do you own any signed books?

Raven: I’m so glad to say that YES I DO! I own 5 signed books *toothy grin*

Beez: Ha! Me too! Ha yes! (yes yes yes)

4. What was the last book you read?

Raven: The last book I read was The Silent Twin which I will be reviewing soon.

Beez: I read a kid’s book, Harvey Angell and the ghost child. I was hoola hooping and it was the middle of the night. Go ahead, judge me.

5. What is your favorite book cover?

Raven: My favourite book cover is The Raven King. Anyone who sees it will know why.

Beez: I don’t know. I don’t think I have one. I mean, I like covers but I haven’t set one as my favorite yet. The cover of Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff is beautiful tho.

Our Questions to you:

1. Who is your book husband? (It can only be one, sorry!)

2. Have you ever turned someone else into a booknerd?

3.Thoughts on the label, YA? Permission to be controversial given.

4. A little something you really liked from a book? (i.e. I liked Park wearing eye liner in Eleanor and Park.)

5. Something you have fangirled over in the past that you don’t as much anymore?

We nominate:

Ruzaikadeen14, Livinginthepagesz, Thereadingbelle, Onceuponabookshelfblog and Geniereads

This is Raven and Beez,

Signing out~

3 thoughts on “Book Fangirling Award

  1. Great answers.👍

    I also receive tags/award nominations from more than one person.. I guess when my sched permits it, I’ll do a collective one, like this post of yours.. Great idea!😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

