Top 5 Wednesday: Books n’ Tunes

*clap clap*

Sometimes, as it happens, you’re listening to a song. And that song paints a lovely picture in your head. And sometimes, it happens to fit perfectly with the picture a book puts in your head. And then, ta-da, you get the song and the book married off!

I have wanted to do this type of a post for a while now. When a song fits for me, I have an intense need to tell people about it. Intense.
So, beware, for this post will be intense and, will not follow the first T5W rule (i.e. It’ll be above 5). Let’s bang on:

BeFunky Collage

#1 Me before you by Jojo Moyes ~~ A world alone by Lorde

[Specifically, at the wedding. When Lou and Will-in-a-wheelchair are dancing on the dance floor.]

Raise a glass, cause I’m not done saying it
They all wanna get rough, get away with it
Let ’em talk, cause we’re dancing in this world alone
World alone, we’re alone

Beez: Godammit, this song. I would have killed to get it into the movie. I know exactly where I want it. It’s the perfect fit- and oh, how the lyrics fit.

Raven: Oh god! I remember that scene so vividly when I read the book. I still haven’t watched the movie but I agree with Beez, no song would fit better than this one.

#2 Ronan from The Raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater ~~ Gasoline by Halsey

[Disclaimer: The Raven boys is mentioned a lot. In this post. On this blog. Deal with it.]

Are you high enough without the Mary Jane like me?
Do you tear yourself apart to entertain like me?
Do the people whisper ‘bout you on the train like me?
Saying that “you shouldn’t waste your pretty face” like me?

Beez: I feel like you if went and gave this song a listen, I wouldn’t need to utter a single word to explain why they’re a perfect match. Everything is just right- the edge, the tone and tune, the lyrics, and everything.

Raven: I shit you not when I first heard this song I could freaking see Ronan starring in a music video of this song. Like… I just… I shit you not.

#3 Blue from The Raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater ~~ Roses by The Chainsmokers ft. ROZES

Oh, I’ll be your daydream, I’ll wear your favorite things
We could be beautiful
Get drunk on the good life, I’ll take you to paradise
Say you’ll never let me go

Raven: There might be some people who wonder about how a song could describe a whole book right? And I agree because a single book has SO much going on! And it’s even more so with The Raven Cycle which is why Beez and I knew that the best thing to do is to tell you guys about songs that we associated with each character instead.

Beez: I can see it- I can see Blue and her personality in this song. As a bonus, what the band said about this song also has a great semblance to the story of TRC.

“This song represents an inherent change in the right direction not the beginning, but the end of that transition – almost like we have finally come full circle to a place musically we are finally completely happy with a song … That is not just a reflection of us personally but also a reflection of us currently. That isn’t to say we won’t continue to evolve and take chances and the music will all sound the same, but this to us felt as natural as drinking the bottle of Patron every show. Roses is us, through and through.” 

#4 Gansey and his quest in The Raven cycle by Maggie Stiefvater ~~ Wherever I go by One Republic

I know I could lie but I’m telling the truth
Wherever I go there’s a shadow of you
I know I could try looking for something new
But wherever I go, I’ll be looking for you

Raven: This song is so obviously Gansey! Just go and listen to it and you will know. Trust me.

Beez: It’s about how Gansey feels alive in his quest and how simultaneously he makes things alive (?).

#5 Kavinsky in The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater ~~ Everybody loves me by One Republic

Don’t need my health
Got my name and got my wealth I
Stare at the sun
Just for kicks all by myself I
Lose track of time
So I might be past my prime
But
I’m feeling oh so good
YEAH!

Raven: This part of the song specifically resonates Kavinsky.

Beez: Some of the lines are so exactly Kavinsky and his situation!

#6 Harry Potter by J K Rowling ~~ Marchin’ On by One Republic

There’s so many wars we fought
There’s so many things were not
But with what we have
I promise you that
We’re marching on

Raven: This song reminds me of the Dumbledore’s army in the Battle of Hogwarts. T_T

Beez: This reminds me of how Harry and the trio just give in all they’ve got- like they might have varying levels of intellect but all of them will go through loads of books trying to find a solution. They’re fighting with what they’ve got.

#7 Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh ~~ Haunting by Halsey

Cause I’ve done some things that I can’t speak
And I’ve tried to wash you away, but you just won’t leave
So won’t you take a breath and dive in deep?
Cause I came here so you’d come for me

Beez: I think this song is about the relationship between Eileen and Rebecca and how Eileen so badly wants Rebecca to find her and want her and haunt her, but Rebecca isn’t really looking for her.

-Bonus: Doctor Who-

Can’t Pretend by Tom Odell

Centuries by Fall Out Boy

Now that you’ve read our intense list, here’s what to do.
GO ON LISTEN TO ALL THE THINGS AND WATCH THEM FUSE.

And also tell us what you think about our choices or tell us some of your own!

This is Raven and Beez

Signing out~

 [Top 5 Wednesday was created by Booktuber named Lainey at Gingerreadslainey and you can find other T5W-ers, the topics and guidelines on the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group.]

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books n’ Tunes

  1. This is absolutely brilliant! I love how you guys picked the songs! I’m not really a song lover but I know some tunes or two. But after searching for the songs, I definitely agree that it fits perfectly! Great job! 🙂

    Abby@ thepandabookblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHHI LOVE CENTURIES!! That’s like one of my ultimate favourite songs. :’) And I have such love of The Raven Cycle. Basically aFJDSLKAFD THAT SERIES IS ENTIRELY PERFECTION. So I need to look up all these songs. :’) Immediately. *dashes for spotify*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

