The Silent Twin by Caroline Mitchell

29073922

Publication Date: April 14, 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Targeted Audience: Adult

Genre: Paranormal/Crime/Psychological thriller

 

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review]

I need to make it clear that I don’t read a lot of mystery novels, simply because they fail to interest me. (Maybe I haven’t found the right author yet, who knows?) This book felt the same. It didn’t intrigue as much as I had hoped it would.

While the writing had no issues, the plot felt dragged. We were constantly being led places and then being disappointed. The characters too were a roller coaster. At some point the finger points so glaringly at one person only to point at someone else the next minute.

And so many distractions! The first 200 or so pages was just every lead in the case leading to an obviously wrong direction.

Also, way too much unnecessary personal drama anyone?

And Jennifers psychic abilities! When I found out about it while reading I was immediately intrigued only to be disappointed yet again. We hardly get to see much of that in action. Apparently the house has some deep evil, do we find out more about that?? Nope!

Finally, the ending: Even though I haven’t read a bucket load of mystery novels I’m sure an ending such as this is just uncalled for. It was so cliched and anti-climatic!! I was furious when I finished it because WHAT ON EARTH??

Why should you read this book? I honestly don’t know why you should, considering the fact that it was really just a wasted read. However, I know loads of people who did enjoy it so maybe give it a try and tell me what you think.

Blurb: I’m alone in the dark, please can you find me …

Nine-year-old twins Abigail and Olivia vow never to be parted. But when Abigail goes missing from Blackwater Farm, DC Jennifer Knight must find her before it’s too late.

Twin sister Olivia has been mute since Abigail’s disappearance. But when she whispers in Jennifer’s ear, Jennifer realizes it is Abigail’s voice pleading to be found.

A damp and decaying house set in acres of desolate scrubland, the farm is a place of secrets, old and new – and Jennifer must unravel them all in order to find the lost girl. But could Olivia’s bond with her twin hold the key to finding Abigail? And can Jennifer break through her silence in time to save her sister’s life?

Feather 2

Can you beautiful people recommend me some amazing mystery books that you think I would enjoy?

Lots of love and mystery,

Raven

Leave a Reply

