Rant review of Gambit: The prodigy chronicles #1 by C.L. Denault

19314543Publication Date: March 31, 2015

Publisher: REUTS Publishing

Targeted Audience: Young Adult (DON’T READ THIS PATHETIC BOOK, PLIS!)

Genre: Fantasy/Science fiction/Dystopia/Romance

 

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review]

I’m gonna be in the minority here when I say that I absolutely despised this book. I have never hated something as much as I have hated this book. I’ll come to the reasons why I hated this book after I tell you about the plot.

This story revolves around a 16 year old girl named Willow Kent. She is living in a little village that resembles the middle ages only with the added bonus that they have something called Prodigies, people with enhanced genes that give them certain powers. Willow is obviously one of these Prodigies and as soon as a Core Officer (Core is the name of a city where only the elite live) finds out about her, she is forcefully taken away to the Core because she is apparently the sole heir of a rich family and therefore has super important genetic material and she also has a marriage contract with another heir of a rich family who ALSO has super important genetic material so that both of them can combine their genes and create the ultimate human with the ultimate genome! Or some shit like that.

I, have got a thousand issues with this book. I won’t lie that in the beginning I thought I would really like this book. The writing was perfect for a fantasy novel but then they included the sexist aspects which weirded me out cause no matter how middle-agey the villages were, this is a freaking dystopian novel!

And then the author kept mentioning that Willow was a very thin and fair-skinned girl, where as her “adopted” parents were all round and curvy. Weight!! Really?? Really?? and skin colour?? These things are not necessary! I hate it! Why not make the protagonist more diverse?? Instead of this so very obvious character trait? But okay fine (not really) let’s assume we have no issues with that.

But let’s not forget that the Core officer a.k.a Reece was a total A-hole! This book screams RAPE CULTURE! Because of this guy. He screams “possible rapist”. The man is a total lunatic! He wants to be obeyed and so he is a total douche-bag to Willow. He hits her and hurts her in unimaginable ways yet he “loves” her and she “loves” him back because he is PHYSICALLY irresistible. And OF COURSE he is actually a very sweet guy with a sad past that we have no clue about and also, he is a just a genetically engineered ASSHOLE!

Internal Screaming

It is so pathetic! Plus, he is SO much older than her (Okay I don’t really have a problem with this IF ONLY SHE WASN’T FREAKING 16!!) And he is a Core officer who is supposed to be well-trained yet he forgets all about his duties and how he would be punished for doing what he is doing (and that is forcing her to “love” him!!) after seeing a pretty 16 YEAR OLD!! PEDOPHILE MUCH?? What is this?? Twilight??

There is so much gender roles being thrown upon the characters! Reece is so “masculine”, Willow is so “feminine” BLAH BLAH BLAH Please grow up! I read fantasy to get away from society and its crap so can you please not throw it on my face?!

AND LET US ALSO NOT FORGET that she feels like a pig because Thess (the guy who she is supposed to marry according to the marriage contract) sent her a necklace before meeting her. Yet she doesn’t feel like a victim when Reece grabs her hair and pulls her down. hurting her horrible in the process just because she rebelled?? WHAT THE CRAP! Obviously at that point he is just being “masculine”. (I’m serious guys this actually happened)

whut whut

This book is an abomination. I can’t believe I read 556 pages of NOTHING! Like, literally nothing happened. At least nothing worth remembering anyway. Hundreds and hundreds of pages were just about her changing from a tavern girl to a city girl- her dress makeover, her hair, her makeup, her country accent, her attitude, her modesty, UGH!!! What about the freaking plot huh?? I felt like I was reading Princess Diaries. At least that book gave me what it said it would, unlike this one!

T-rex screaming.gif

That T-rex is me because I AM SO FRUSTRATED WITH THIS BOOK! LITERALLY NOTHING HAPPENED IN THIS BOOK AND IT’S INFURIATING!

SHE WAS SUPPOSED TO MEET HER FUTURE HUSBAND BUT EVEN THAT DIDN’T HAPPEN UNTIL THE END WHERE WE FOUND OUT EVEN MORE NOTHING ABOUT THESS!

I THOUGHT WE WOULD KNOW AT LEAST A TEENY LITTLE BIT ABOUT REECE’S PAST BUT NOPETY NOPETY NOPE!

WE DON’T KNOW WHAT ON EARTH IS HAPPENING AND WE OBVIOUSLY DON’T KNOW WHY THE FREAKING REBELS ARE FREAKING REBELLING!! THEY ARE LIKE INSIGNIFICANT POSSUMS BUT IN REALITY POSSUMS ARE THE BEST!

*banshee screaming in the distance*

throw book out window.gif

I honestly went into this book hoping that I would finally get to read some amazing fantasy on sci-fi action but what I got was a YA version of 50 shades of grey!! I pity the people who loved this book. I mean, I don’t care that you hate me for this review because I pity your pathetic little brains for even thinking this book was good.

{My pun for this review: “This book is under-rated” More like under-hated. MWHAHAHAHAHA!}

Blurb: In Earthโ€™s battle-ridden future, humans have evolved. Those with extraordinary skills rise to power and fame. Those without live in poverty.

Sixteen-year-old Willow Kent believed she was normal. But when a genetically-advanced military officer shows up in her village and questions her identity, long-buried secrets begin to emerge. With remarkable skills and a shocking genetic code the Core and its enemies will do anything to obtain, Willow suddenly finds the freedom she craves slipping through her fingers. Greed, corruption, and genetic tampering threaten every aspect of her existence as sheโ€™s thrust, unwilling, into the sophisticated culture of the elite Core city. To ensure peace, she must leave the past behind, marry a man sheโ€™s never met, and submit to the authority of a relentless officer with a hidden agenda of his own.

Her life has become a dangerous game. How much will she sacrifice in order to win?

Lots of love,

Raven

5 thoughts on “Rant review of Gambit: The prodigy chronicles #1 by C.L. Denault

  1. Ugh this sounds like a giant waste of space. I haaate when books are mega long and yet nothing happens. I MEAN WHAT IS THE POINT OF THAT??? WHERE IS THE FAIRNESS??? gah. Congrats on suffering through the whole thing though.๐Ÿ˜‚ That like deserves CAKE REWARD for sure!!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

