Mini DNF Reviews #1

30090014Weregirl by C.D. Bell

Publication Date: November 1, 2016

Publisher: Chooseco

Targeted Audience: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy/Supernatural

[Note: I received a free preview copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review]

I didn’t particularly enjoy this novel. I only read the preview and I immediately knew exactly how the book would end. It felt very cliched with the whole girl turns into a werewolf and falls in love with guy who strongly reminded me of Jacob from Twilight. Thanks but I’ll pass on this one.

However, I do agree that since I’ve read only about a 100 pages my judgement about this book may or may not be wrong. If you have the patience and interest to find out if I’m wrong, go ahead and read it.

Blurb: Eager to escape her small hometown, high school junior Nessa Kurland is focused on winning a college scholarship for cross-country running. A chance encounter with a trapped wolf while out on a run leads to powerful and frightening changes, and one day, Nessa is transformed into a full werewolf. Now Nessa must navigate the challenges of high school while coming face to face with true human darkness, as she tries to make peace with her new wild nature.

 FrontCoverThe Butterfly Crest: The Protogenoi series #1 by Eva Vanrell

Publication Date: November 11, 2014

Publisher: The Ojime Group

Targeted Audience: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy/Mythology (Greek and Japanese)

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review]

First off, look at that beautiful cover! I can immediately tell that it has a touch of Japanese culture in it. And as big as the blurb is, it still sounds pretty interesting and I started off with so much interest.

BUT sadly the thing that made me finally DNF it is, the writing. Which is kind of sad because it is a beautiful and unique writing mixed with a bad dose of “too-many-descriptions-of-pointless-stuff”. And the plot mostly consisted of the MC doing mundane things that had nothing whatsoever to do with the actual plot. This is a book that has a lot of potential but just hasn’t been carried out very well. Read it if you have LOTS and LOTS of patience.

Blurb: An ancient war. A long-told prophecy. A cursed Inheritance.
If you were destined to die, how would you choose to live?

Between the shadows of the human world, a war as old as time is being fought. Ageless pantheons scheme to obtain or keep control, provoked by the weight of human belief which has altered the realm of the divine.

An ancient prophecy speaks of a human woman who will alter the course of this divine war, a descendant of a Great House mired in misfortune and blood, whose history was shaped by the cruelty of the gods.

On a day as unremarkable as any other, Elena Vicens, a young woman living a seemingly ordinary life, receives a letter about a deposit box belonging to her mother, nineteen years after her mother’s death. When this letter sends her on a journey halfway across the world from New Orleans to Japan, Elena unknowingly comes into possession of a cursed inheritance. She is suddenly thrust into a world of myths and legends, where the intangible and the strange are the fabric of everyday life, and deathless gods vie for victory at any cost.

As allies converge to help Elena fulfill the prophecy, one of whom is struggling with his own inheritance, Elena must choose for herself the measure of her own destiny.

This is the first set of mini reviews I have done. The idea was inspired by Cat from @Paperfury who is absolutely fabulous by the way. Do check her out if you haven’t already.

I think this is an amazing way to review books on which I don’t really have a lot of thoughts and I’m also super lazy so… #motherofprocastination. These two book reviews had been sitting in the drafts section for way too long and I was just thinking about trashing them out when the idea to do this struck me.

However, do tell me what you guys think because your opinion is the only way this blog can really improve.

Lots of love,

Raven

5 thoughts on “Mini DNF Reviews #1

  1. Pingback: Mini Thoughts on Books I’ve read #1 | Raven & Beez

  2. Pingback: Book Tag| This or That – Closet Readers

  3. This is brilliant! I’ve been DNF’s books a lot recently because life is short and I only want to read books that I actually enjoy lol! I may have to try this out, but I’m too nice and feel bad admitting officially in my blog why I DNF’d a book :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

