Review of RWBY Volume #1, #2 and #3: A web animation series

So for a minute let us all just forget that my little sister has been going crazy, begging me to watch Full Metal Alchemist (which I will definitely watch… someday). In the meantime I decided to write a review on a book I read a few weeks ago but I promptly got distracted by YouTube and before I knew it I was listening to this absolute beauty!!

I am begging you to listen to it because it is ALL I’ve listened to all day! Okay, not really true because when I found out that the girl in the video above is Ruby Rose from a Web Animation Series called RWBY by Rooster Teeth, I jumped on my tippy toes and watched ALL THE THREE VOLUMES.

I know it sounds CRAZY but Volume 1 ONLY has 16 episodes and almost all the episodes are just around 6-7 minutes long (some are also as small as 4:50) except the 15th episode which is 10:41 minutes and the last episode, which is 15:29 minutes. So basically I finished Vol #1 in around an hour and a half and then Volume 2 and Volume 3 ONLY have 12 episodes each, and yes the episodes of VOL. 1 & 2 has around 15-17 minute episodes they are still very easy and fast to watch.

Now the show does have a very different style of animation and I’ll be honest, I really didn’t like it at first. In fact I was thinking about not continuing it because of the style.. But I had heard so many good things about it and so I thought “Well they are very short episodes so what the crap right?” AND I AM SO GLAD I STUCK AROUND! Because once you start falling in love with the amazing characters and plot you just wouldn’t care and honestly I think the animation has improved loads over the volumes but if you still complain then well…

2

If anyone is wondering when exactly the show became my favourite, it’s Volume 1, episode 8. *Intense. Internal. Screaming* And they have such an amazing opening song. It makes me want to pull out my custom designed scythe and CUT SOME MONSTER HEEEAAAADDSSS!

~Volume 1~

WqEDXosThe story revolves around eight characters who live in the world Remnant. Four of which are the protagonists and they are Ruby Rose (The cute girl who is clearly special and has a great destiny to unfold), Weiss Schnee (The rich girl with father issues, who plans to show the world she is much more than just a successful company’s heir), Blake Belladonna (A girl with a dark past but good morals) and Ruby’s elder sister, Yang Xiao Long (Someone who looks carefree at first but OBVIOUSLY has something sad lacing her past). RWBY is their team name formed by their initials and Ruby Rose also happens to be their team leader.

The other four are Jaune Arc (Leader of team JNPR and an adorable dork), Nora Valkyrie (The chaotic and hungry ADHD), Pyrrha Nikos (an amazon goddess/gladiator… okay that’s not what she is but she might as well be) and Lie Ren (Bad ass ninja who is the cute and brooding kind).

These eight hunters and huntresses are in training at Beacon Academy in the city of Vale, where they learn how to defeat the monsters of the dark called the Grimm and OF COURSE THINGS ARE MORE COMPLICATED THAN THAT… which is why I freaking love it so much.

~Volume 2~

RWBY

Team RWBY

In this volume we get to see more of the amazing villains, some who had been introduced to us earlier like Roman and Cinder and some we had never met before like Mercury and Emerald. We see their plan in action and as episodes progress we see what they are actually after.

We also see the main characters bond with each other since they have been recently made into teams. So hell yes to more character development and hell yes to more cute hunters like Sun and Neptune.

Plot wise we know that something deep and dark is stirring in Remnant because General Ironwood is in Vale with a majority of his fleet and with the Vytal Festival coming up, no place seems safe anymore. The worst part I think is that we are shown all these happy moments in this volume that you just KNOW that some serious shit will be going down soon.

~Volume 3~

JNPR

Team JNPR

Finally we come to Volume 3, without a doubt this is the most action-packed of them all. The Vytal festival shows just how amazing these hunters and huntresses are. The way some things are revealed are just so bone-chillingly gooood.

Also the facts that we find out about many of the characters past and possible futures just frightens me because I just want my coot little babies to be safe!!

There is so much fighting, so much action, so much evil and just aaaaargh! I loved this volume. Not to forget all the HEARTBREAK! ARGH! THE HEARTBREAK *non-stop crying*

I just love this show so much that I wrote this post without any second thoughts. So go and watch this amazing show before they release Volume 4 on October 22!

1RWBY (pronounced “Ruby”) is an original American anime-style web-series created by Rooster Teeth Productions’ animation studio.ย The story takes place in the world of Remnant, which is filled with supernatural forces and shadowy creatures known as the Grimm. Prior to the events of the series, mankind waged a battle of survival against the Grimm before discovering the power of a mysterious element called Dust, which allowed them to fight back against the monsters. In the present day, Dust is used to power magical abilities and weapons. Those who use these abilities to battle the Grimm are known as Huntsmen and Huntresses. The series focuses on four girls, each with her own unique weapon and powers. Together, they form a team at Beacon Academy in the city of Vale, where they are trained to become Huntresses.

Lots of love,

Raven

Leave a Reply

