Age of Myth: The Legends of the First Empire #1 by Michael J. Sullivan

26863057

Publication Date: June 28, 2016

Publisher: Del Rey

Targeted Audience: EVERYONE

Genre: Epic Fantasy

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review]

This book! After having read countless awful books back to back this year, this book was my savior. Firstly, the genre is Epic Fantasy which is my favourite and then we have this amazing cover which includes all the main characters AND an epic tree. *crying because so bootiful*

Moving on to the plot. The story is your usual “good-guy-teams-up-with-good-people-to-save-the-world” arc but obviously the thing that makes this book so different is the characters and the universe that it’s set in. I love Raithe and Malcolm together. Best epic fantasy duo ever. They band together under such unusual circumstances and Malcolm NEVER fails to make me laugh. Then we have Persephone, wife of a fallen leader and possibly one of the strongest female characters ever introduced in an epic fantasy genre. We all love having the bad ass lady but I never knew how much I loved the smart ass ones until Persephone. Finally, we have Suri and Minna, a little girl and her loyal wolf. Beautiful innocent and naive yet badass- Suri. What more could one want?

The plot is basically about how the humans have worshipped the Fhrey as Gods and how things take a drastic turn when news spreads of a human having killed a God. We see multiple POV’s (don’t worry loves, this doesn’t complicate the story one bit) and therefore are able to peek into the lives of the humans, as well as the Fhrey.

One thing to note is that while this book does not center around teenage characters and therefore isn’t necessarily YA, this book CAN be read by all ages. There is no vulgar language or sex scenes yet it gives off a mature feeling, which is hard to come by most adult fantasies and hence is another thing that I love about this book.

Review bannerThis was my first Michael J. Sullivan book and OH AM I IN LOVE! His writing style is beautiful! It flows like music. The description of this beautiful alternate world is never too much and I love how different yet familiar all the characters in this book are. Honestly, it’s a 10/10 from me. The best part about starting this series is that ALL the books in this series have already been written. So you don’t have to wait more than the normal waiting time for this epic fantasies releases unlike some series… *cough*GoT*cough*

Blurb: What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.

Lots of love,

Raven

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Age of Myth: The Legends of the First Empire #1 by Michael J. Sullivan

    • Oh dear! I don’t know how I never saw your comment *hides face in embarassment*

      I really hope you do enjoy this book. The second one is coming out this July I think and I’ve already heard such great news about it by the pre-release readers.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love loved loved this novel! It was me first ever (and only) win on Goodreads. The author is so very nice. I want the next four novels and then I will read his other series. Check out me review if ye like. Reading this post was awesome!
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s