Mini Book Reviews #1

Don’t want to spend a lot of time reading huge ass reviews for books? Welcome to my mini-reviews edition!

If you remember, I had done one a while ago but it was a Mini DNF review. This is my first mini-review of books I’ve read and scrutinized thoroughly *cue professional music*.

28498779Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg

Publication Date: June 28, 2016

Publisher: 47North

Targeted Audience: Young Adult/Adult

Genre: Fantasy/Magic

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Also, this book is technically targeted towards adults since the MC is an adult but young adults can read it too.]

This is the kind of book I give a three star because I liked it… but I also didn’t like it.

Firstly, it’s got the amnesia trope so NO ONE KNOWS WHAT’S HAPPENING! There is a level of mystery that is preferred and liked in a book. But a book where 85% of the things make no sense? Nope.

The characters felt very shallow too. I felt no real connection to any of them. The main character (Maire) was tortured a lot! And I felt sad FOR her but I didn’t actually feel… anything. I didn’t care. (I mean of course I would care if someone was tortured for real but you know what I mean)

And a lot of the major developments in the book were based on pure luck and I don’t believe in luck… you see the problem? I want to see HOW the character gets out of his/her problems. Not see something magically help them.

At the end of the day I did like the unique plot, the subtle fairy-tale retelling and the ending DID surprise me a bit and made me slightly teary-eyed. However, it’s not one of my favourites.

Have any of you read this book? If so, what did you think? Any thoughts are appreciated!

439288Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Publication Date: April 1, 2001

Publisher: Puffin

Targeted Audience: Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary

[Note: I’ve read zero books about rape and that’s really bad because rape is a very important social issue. The more aware you are about it the less the misconceptions and ignorance. As far as I can remember, this is the first book I’ve read that deals with rape.]

It took me forever, to feel at ease with the plain writing style of this book. And if we ignore all the cliche high school drama, the lifeless classmates/friends/parents, all the pointlessly mean people AND the judgemental main character named, Melinda… well, there isn’t much left is there?

I liked how the book ended, even though the development of it felt abrupt. The problems/social view of rape wasn’t really explored much. It was just… normal teenage drama with rape added in and I didn’t like that since I hate drama.

Do you guys feel the same? Or is there something that I failed to realize? Tell me down in the comments!

29343106Hell Divers (Hell Divers Trilogy #1)  by Nicholas Sansbury Smith

Publication Date: July 2016

Publisher: Blackstone Publishing

Targeted Audience: Young Adult/Adult

Genre: Sci-fi/Post-apocalyptic/Dystopia/Horror/Zombie

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Also, this book is technically targeted towards adults since the MC is an adult but young adults can read it too.]

Now, this is a book I did enjoy. It is post-apocalyptic and has a bit of a steampunk-ish vibe about it because it’s got the last of humanity living on airships. Airships that run on supplies that can ONLY be foraged from this planet that used to be Earth but now, it’s just radioactive waste.

Add some filthy mutants who eat humans? Hell yes. My mantra- Give me that gore, give me that bloodshed.

Only a tiny group of people called the Hell divers, dive to this god-forsaken planet for the supplies. And they have to fight for their life because things are not easy when you are the last airship still flying, weird mutants that are out for your blood and there is a rebel uprising.

Finally, the characters in this book were so DEEP! I felt so much pain when I read this book. Loved it! Need more pain ASAP. So if you want lots of feels, action and an “ERHMAGERD-WHAT-IS-HAPPENING-TO-MY-BABIES!” feel, this is the book for you.

This is a fairly new book and it’s written by an author I had never heard of before, but have you read it? And did you enjoy it as much as me? Or did it leave you feeling disappointed? You know where to tell me.

24396876The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

Publication Date: September 22, 2015

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Targeted Audience: Middle Grade/Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary

Finally, we come to this book. *sigh*

JUST KILL ME! This book left me with a deep hangover. It was so beautiful and cute and sweet and heart-breaking.

The writing style is so beautiful, it flows like music. And the sciency stuff! Ugh! Loved dem sciency stuff. Also loved dem beautiful jellyfish illustrations.

‘All this time, I’d thought that our story was just that: our story. But it turns out you had your own story, and I had mine.’

Did you read that?? It’s read as freaking “Heart-break”. There are so many things like that in this book. This is the kind of book that shows you just HOW powerful words can be. And it’s about a friendship between two girls. Like, HOW MANY BOOKS TALK ABOUT THAT?? About how you make the best of friends and then lose them as you grow up because you thought you were one and would obviously grow up the same but you weren’t! YOU FREAKING WEREN’T!

*Cries in the corner*

If you feel like you need to read a book that would never let you go… a book that you want to cuddle with when you sleep because you’ve been ripped to shreds… a book that will make you cry for the all friends you’ve lost over the years?

This. Is. It.

How many of you have read this book? Did you think it was beautiful too? LEMME HEAR A YES! I mean, you can say no too but… plis, I’m already broken.

Lots of love and duct tape for your broken hearts,

Raven

7 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews #1

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: If our future kids don’t read these books we’ll disown them! | Raven & Beez

  2. agh, I know how you feel about Magic Bitter Magic Sweet. I HATE the anmesia trope…well, most of the time. (I love the Maze Runner’s version.😂) But like no one knew what was happening in that book!? So disappointing. Plus like 0% world building. BUT AT LEAST THERE WAS CAKE.🍰🍰 My favourite. :’)
    And ohhh this makes me want to read The Thing About Jellyfish so so bad. *glares at ominously towering TBR* Someday I’m going to library it. SOMEDAY SOON!!😜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been eyeing Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet because it just sounds so lovely and cute. But I don’t know about the amnesia thing. I might relegate this to my “get it if I see it at the library” list.

    I loved The Thing about Jellyfish as well. Very well-written, very moving!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

