Esper Files by Egan Brass

32493342Publication Date: October 26, 2016

Publisher: Inkitt

Targeted Audience: Young Adult/Adult

Genre: Sci-fi – Steampunk/Fantasy

[Note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review]

This book has been one of my best October reads. I haven’t read a lot of steampunk (something that I hope to change) and reading this has convinced me to read more of it soon.

The book is set in a Victorian era, steampunk, London and begins with a scientist (known as Professor) conducting an experiment that goes real bad, real fast and before you know it, super enhanced human beings known as Espers start popping up. An institute is set up where people with such cool powers are taught to use it for good but naturally we have some villainous peeps with villainous intentions trying to burn the world down. Cue, Nathan and James, Espers from the institute who are later joined by Freya, who wants to save her brother, an Esper,ย  from the evil Baron.

I love the writing style of this book, especially loved the fight scenes because they played out like a cool movie in my mind. Every time I finished a fight scene I’d be thirsty for some more kick-ass andย  thankfully a healthy amount was provided for me. (gorges on it and turns into an instant hippo) Let’s also bask in the glory of the fact that romance is in no way the important aspect of this book like, good lord! It’s so hard to find a good book like this.

The characters,ย on the other hand, are very well formed and I absolutely love Freya’s character development. The Baron and the people under his “care” are very bone-chillingly creepy. And this is coming from a girl who thinks movies and books are much better when there is a lot of well-shed blood and gore *cough*season7TWD*cough* I love the pure evil in all of them. (laughs like a maniac)

I was a bit sad that the element of steampunk was not that engraved into the book. I’d have liked to see the characters actually engage with that aspect because we are told that they traveled on a steam-powered airplane but I wanted to see it happening, or read it, whatever.

I won’t lie, when I started reading this book I felt like it resembled X-men a lot. For example, the Professor who is like a father figure for these Espers who are treated like outcasts was similar to Professor X, and the Espers themselves are sort of like mutants and the whole institute providing shelter to the Espers thing is like Xavier’s school for gifted youngsters but that’s where the similarity ends.

The book has a very interesting plot and it has ended on a good note. It’s not a cliffhanger but there are some loose threads and that’s what makes me want to read the next book in the series which I hope is in the works… or something.

Definitely recommended for people who love superheroes and a book filled with action and mystery.

Edit: OH MY GOD I JUST FOUND OUT THAT BOOK 2 IS RELEASING ON MY BIRTHDAY! (January 25, 2017)

Blurb: Set in London during the latter part of the 19th century. An experiment goes wrong at The Oxford Academy of Science, giving certain people extraordinary powers which turns them into ‘Espers’. An institute is set up to teach Espers how to control these power, and stop corrupt Espers from abusing theirs. Nathan and James, two agents from the Institute team up with Freya, a young Esper whose brother (gifted with the strange ability to manipulate emotions) is abducted by a ruthless Baron. The group has to fight against a dark threat to protect the fragile peace of Victorian London… And the rest of the world.

Lots of love,

Raven

6 thoughts on “Esper Files by Egan Brass

Leave a Reply

