Seven Surrenders by Ada Palmer [A sequel where shit hits the fan]

Seven Surrenders

It’s absolutely impossible for me to talk about the plot of this book without giving away major spoilers of the first book (review here) AND this book. So in an attempt to keep this review SPOILER FREE, I’ll try to be as vague as possible.

I won’t be certain who the killer is until I meet them, but if it’s Mycroft, be merciful. Keep them alive, and safe, and working. You need them. If you have lost me, you need them. There are things I leave undone that only Mycroft Canner can complete.

-APOLLO MOJAVE

The Terra Ignota series is written as a history book by our protagonist, Mycroft Canner. However, it’s the “history” of the year 2454.

In the first book, we followed the life of Mycroft Canner (a criminal), Carlyle Foster (a religious sensayer) and Bridger (the boy who can bring anything to life). In this book, we drop in on almost everyone we met in Book 1.

We get more info on all the important political figures, the Saneer-Weeksbooth bash and of course JEDD Mason, the apparent leader of the entire world. 

DISCLAIMER: This book WILL offend everyone and anyone. It touches all the sensitive buttons, politics, religion, gender and there are some really trigger heavy scenes, such as sexual assault, and extreme and graphic violence.

Raven & Beez

In Book 1 we were introduced to the world of the future. Mycroft Canner speaks to the readers themselves, explaining to us how different the world is. How different yet similar.

In Book 1 I had trouble flowing with the archaic writing style. Even though the book is set in the future, the writing is heavily influenced by the past. Which makes sense as the author, Ada Palmer, is a renowned historian.

In Book 2 however, I didn’t have this issue at all because I knew what to expect. But knowing didn’t necessarily help with the shock that I felt while I was reading this book.

While Book 1 focused on building their world around us, book 2 just breaks all the boundaries. Everything that we knew about the future is questioned.

flailing-gif-2

It’s safe to say that I loved this book. Despite being heavy in prose I finished this book within a week. The pacing of the book is perfect. Things are constantly happening throughout the book but not once did it feel overburdening.

The Characters (all of them) are so complex. And even though it’s Mycroft who narrates the whole thing to us, there are so many things that we finally find out about him.

This book is essentially a futuristic political thriller. So, a thing to keep in mind is that maybe a few things might just go over your head. But personally, I feel that’s the purpose. Because we are after all reading the history of a future we don’t truly know.

The ending of this book moved me to tears. I really wasn’t expecting that, well I wasn’t expecting what happened to happen in the whole book, but that really does take a whole different route now. I can’t wait to read the third book. (It’s releasing next month guys!)

If you’re wondering whether or not you should pick this series, consider this: Do you like sci-fi mixed with politics? With a dash of unbelievable fantasy? Complex characters with brutal humanity? Basically questioning your own life?

If you answered yes to the above then you should definitely pick it up.

LET’S CHAT!

Have you read this book? Did you like it? Do you plan on reading it if you haven’t yet? Let me know what your favourite sci-fi book of the year was down in the comments!

Lots of love and existential crisis,

Raven

 

twitter_circle_color-256 instagram_w circle-64  share-facebook goodreads_icon3-1 f95d43a9a4f5e0cd4a0b6e79cc99d190-tumblr-icon-logo-by-vexels

Leave a comment